Skip to main content

Borrowing Materials

Getting a card, renewing materials, placing holds, etc.
For full details on the library's circulation services, please see the Collection & Circulation Policy.

Who can get a card

Any adult with proof of identity (government issued photo ID) and Texas residency (lease, utility bill, bank statement) can apply for a free library card.  Children over the age of 5 can apply for a card with their legal guardian; the guardian must provide proof of identity and address.  You must be a resident of Texas to be eligible for a library card.

Check Out Limits

On the day you apply for your card, you are limited to a maximum of five print materials and one audio book (borrowing privileges for DVDs and other materials begins the following day).  After your first day, the following limits apply:

Fines are currently waived on books, audiobooks, and DVDs
Maximum items out per card: 30

Type

Maximum per card

Checkout period

Allowed Renewals

Late fine/day*

Print books 30 2 weeks 2 $0.25
DVDs
(including a max. of 1 TV series at a time)
5 1 week 0 $1.00
Great Course sets (mixed format) 1 2 weeks 2 $1.00
CD & Audiobooks 5 2 weeks 2 $0.50
Magazines 5 2 weeks 0 $0.25

Non-Traditional Items for Check Out

Electronics**:

  • Kindle e-Readers
  • Launchpad Tablets
  • Mobile Hotspots

1 each per household

2 weeks for e-Readers & Tablets
1 week for Hotspots

0

$5.00

Games (including Dungeons & Dragons Starter Kits) 1 per household 2 weeks 2 $0.25
Armchair Traveler Kits, Ukulele Kits, Storytime-in-a-Bag & Activity Kits 1 per household 2 week 0 $1.00
Knitting Needles/Crochet Hooks 1 2 weeks 2 $0.25
Phone Charging Cords (Android & iPhone) 1 4 hours
(in-library use only)
0 $0.25
Bike Locks 1 4 hours
(in-library use only)
0 $0.25

*Late fines max out at the replacement cost of the item. Fines are shared by all household members. Fines over $5.00 will block all cards in the the household.

** Patrons borrowing electronic equipment must have an adult library card in good standing and sign a Borrower's Agreement prior to their first equipment checkout.  Please contact the library for details.

Placing Holds and Renewing items

Hold limit: 10 items per account (including maximum of 2 DVDs)

You can log into the library's catalog and your account from any computer.  When you are logged into your account, search for the item and click "Place a Reserve".  Our staff will pull the item for you when it is available and  contact you when it is ready to be picked-up. 

If eligible for renewal, items will automatically renew on their due date.  You can also manually renew eligible items and view due dates online by logging into your library account on our catalog page.

Returning Items

All items must be returned before library closing on their due date.  Items returned after closing will be checked in the following morning.

The outdoor book drops are open 24/7 for returns.  To protect against damage, electronic items must be returned in person to a staff member during library hours - returning electronics in the book drop may result in suspension of borrowing privileges for these items.

Library Fines

Fines are currently waived on books, audiobooks, and DVDs
Overdue items accrue daily fines of 25 cents for print materials, 50 cents for audio materials, and $1 for movies. Fines of $5 or more will prevent you and your household from checking out materials,using public computers, and accessing electronic resources. Patrons are responsible for the condition and timely return of all library materials.