What do I need to get a library card?
Adults (ages 18+) must show current, government issued photo ID and proof of your current, physical Texas address. If your Texas Drivers License has the correct address, that is all you need. Parents or legal guardians can get a card for a minor age 5 or older using the adult’s identification and proof of address. New library cards may be made in person at the Circulation Desk up to 15 minutes before closing.
What does the library accept as proof of address?
If your current photo ID has an old address, you must present proof of your current address in order to apply for or renew your library card. We will accept the following documents: current lease or mortgage, utility bill, bank statement or check, paystub, insurance card, voter registration card, or official government correspondence.
Do I need to have my library card with me to check out materials?
Yes, you must present your valid library card in order to check out materials from the library. We do not allow material to be checked out without the physical library card issued to the borrower.
Can I use a family member or friend's library card?
Borrowing privileges are non-transferrable. You may not use another person’s card or allow your card to be used by anyone else, even if they are within the same household.
If my child put a book on reserve using their card, can I pick it up for them?
Reserve items must be collected by the account holder. We will not check out any items to a person's account unless that person is present with their card.
Can my child play in the kids’ room or go to a program while I am in another area of the library?
Only if they are older than 8 years. Children under the age of 8 must be supervised at all times by someone at least 16 years old in the same room.
What are the limits for computer use?
Computer sessions are 55 minutes long and may have the option of an additional 30 minute extension. Library patrons in good standing may have two sessions each day. Guests may have one session per day. Sessions are non-transferable and must be used by the assignee. Anyone who has a library account is not eligible for a guest pass. Our computer reservation system shuts down 30 minutes before closing. All computer sessions end automatically 15 minutes before closing, regardless of remaining session time. Please see our Patron Computer Use Agreement for more information.
Can my child do homework on the computer?
Minors must have their valid library card with them and an Internet Permission Form on file with the library before using a computer. Permission Forms are available at the Circulation Desk. Minors are subject to the same session limitations as adults (see above). Children must be appropriately supervised at all times.
How do I find out what items are overdue on my child’s account?
Why can’t I use the computer or check out items when a family member has fines?
Library accounts are linked by household. If there are overdue materials or fines that reach $5, everyone in the household is blocked until the issues have been resolved.
Do you accept the TexShare Card?
Since all Texas residents are eligible for a Wells Branch Community Library card without charge, we do not accept TexShare cards from other Texas libraries. Please see visit the Circulation Desk to apply for a library card.
Can I get books from other libraries?
Materials from other libraries can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Restrictions and fees apply. Active patrons in good standing can also apply for a TexShare Card after 6 months. Please see the Information Desk for details.
How many books/movies can I take at once?
You may borrow up to 30 materials at a time, including up to 5 DVD items. Patrons are limited to 1 TV Series DVD set at a time.
Why happened to my computer time? I only used 5 minutes earlier.
Computer sessions must each be used in one seating. Extended inaction will cause the system to end your session. Sessions cannot be resumed.
Does library offer printing, faxing, and copying services or have a notary public?
Printing is available at the library and costs either $0.10 per black and white page or $1 per color page. Patrons can print from the library's public computer stations or from their personal computer, laptop or tablet using our mobile printing service or the PrinterOn app. Scanning is available using the Library Document Station. Documents can be scanned free of charge and delivered to your email, smartphone, Google Drive, or Dropbox. Additionally, documents can be scanned to print for a cost.
The library has a stand-alone fax machine available to the public for a cost ($1.75 for the first page; $1 per additional page). This service is not managed by the library, and patrons must have a credit or debit card to use the machine. We do not provide notary service at this time.
I sometimes see people eating or talking on their cell phones in the library. Is this allowed?
Conversations in the library, whether in person or by telephone, must be quiet enough that other patrons are not disturbed. We do allow food and covered drinks in the library, but not by the computers, and patrons are expected to clean up after themselves. Cell phone use is not allowed in the quiet reading room.
How do I have my exam proctored?
We offer proctoring services to library members on a case by case basis. Library members should fill out & return a Proctor Request Form at the library Circulation Desk to request a proctored exam. Members will then be contacted by the proctor to set an exam date & time.
How is the library managed if you aren’t part of the city or county?
We are a library district, as created under local code 326. The library is funded primarily by sales tax collected in the immediate area and governed by an elected volunteer board of five trustees. Daily operations are overseen by the library director.